Destructive qualities of the heart

As for the destructive qualities of the heart, they are:

1. pride (kibr)

2. conceit (‘ujub)

3. envy (hasad)

4. hatred (hiqd)

5. stinginess (bukhul)

6. showing-off (riyaa)

7. love for rank and love for wealth (hubb l-jaah wa hubb lmaal)

8. boasting (iftikhaar)

9. false hope (amal)

10. and having an evil opinion of the Muslims.

These ten qualities are the destructive traits of the heart that are the foundation of blameworthy character. It is obligatory for every Muslim to remove these from his heart.

Shaikh Usman Ibn Fodio

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s